Submit your events
 

Junior Naturalists

Lake View Nature Center | Oakbrook Terrace, Ill.

Explore nature, practice survival skills and participate in behind the scenes animal care. Participants will learn simple data collection and mathematical analysis methods and work with equipment used by real scientists to study plants and animals. Dress for the weather and wear clothes that can get dirty. Oct. 21, Nov. 18.

When: 4-5:30 p.m.
Cost: $16, $11 resident

Curious Kids Nature Club

Lake View Nature Center | Oakbrook Terrace, Ill.

Kids make discoveries about the earth through art, play and exploration. Learn about awesome animals and their roles in nature. Dress for outdoor adventures and wear gym shoes. Meal and snack included. Oct. 10, Nov. 7.

When: 6-9:30 p.m.
Cost: $29, $24 resident

S.M.A.R.T. Series: Explore, Create, Learn in the S.M.A.R.T. Café

DuPage Children's Museum | Naperville, Ill.

Start the day with books and activities that focus on healthy foods and lifestyles through art, math, science, and literacy explorations. Sessions start with a book followed by open-ended projects for all ages.

When: 9:45-10:30 a.m. Tuesdays
Cost: Free tickets required

Amazing Artists

DuPage Children's Museum | Naperville, Ill.

A class that draws on concepts from artists like Kandinsky, Rothko and Calder and encourages young artists to create masterpieces of their own.

When: 9:30-10:15 a.m.
Cost: $23 pair, $17 member pair

Celebrate Reading Event

Meatheads Lincolnwood | Lincolnwood, Ill.

FREE  
Celebrate the summer reading partnership between Meatheads and The Goulden Touch, the public charity founded by Chicago Bears' Kicker Robbie Gould. This family-friendly event will reward kids for participating in Meatheads’ Summer Voracious Reading Program. Robbie will read some of his favorite books, sign autographs, take photos and dine with customers. Meatheads will be bringing back the limited edition charity burger developed by Robbie, The Goulden Burger.
When: 5:30-7:30 p.m.
Cost: Free

Bunny Cakes Storytime

West Chicago Public Library | West Chicago, Ill.

FREE  

Join with millions of adults and children reading Bunny Cakes by Rosemary Wells in celebration of the Read-for-the-Record early literacy campaign. Drop in for stories and songs before bedtime.

When: 6:30-7 p.m.
Cost: Free

Meet Award-winning Novelist George Hagen

The Book Stall at Chestnut Court | Winnetka, Ill.

FREE  

An After-School Special with George Hagen, author of the new middle grade novel Gabriel Finley & the Raven's Riddle. It will appeal to fans of Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

When: 4:30-5:30 p.m.
Cost: Free

Kid's Monster Cupcake Class

Whole Foods Market Deerfield | Deerfield, Ill.

Kids decorate a cupcake to look like a monster. Sign up at the Customer Service desk.

When: 4:30-5 p.m.
Cost: $4 per child/cupcake

Plant Hunters

Morton Arboretum | Lisle, Ill.

The new library exhibit highlights the crucial research that takes place at The Morton Arboretum and brings awareness to the work of other notable plant researchers throughout history. Artifacts rare photographs of turn-of-the-century China taken by renowned plant collector, Ernest Henry Wilson. Visitors can explore modern plant hunting by getting a close look at instruments used in the field and during scientific study. The exhibit also features interactive elements, challenging visitors to identify various plant species while they learn about the state of threatened trees and plants as well as the conservation efforts of scientists at The Morton Arboretum.

Cost: Free with admission

Lionel Train Adventure

Lincoln Park Zoo | Chicago, Ill.

The new electric-powered locomotive seats 28 children with a coal car, passenger cars and a caboose, courtesy of Lionel. The adventure begins at a red brick train station and embarks on an exciting trip through an evergreen forest. Next, the terrain changes as the train crosses over a quaint country bridge before continuing on through a craggy canyon. The train will pass through a lofty birch forest before returning to the red brick station.

Cost: $3
 







 
 
 
Copyright 2014 Wednesday Journal Inc. All rights reserved. Chicago web development by liQuidprint